The database of PADD contains letters, manuscripts and documents about the history of psychoanalysis and currently holds more than 8,000 entries. Certain documents are also available as digital scans.



,

Federn_paul1

Paul Federn was born in 1871 in Vienna as the son of the Jewish physician Salomon \r\nFedern and his wife Ernestine (née Spitzer). As a successful doctor, his \r\nbourgeois-liberal father was a well respected man in Viennese society. His mother \r\ndevoted herself to social welfare efforts and was an activist in the women’s \r\nemancipation movement. Federn attended the Academic Gymnasium in Vienna, from \r\nwhich he graduated in 1889. Although he was primarily interested in biology, Federn \r\nyielded to the wishes of his domineering father and began his medical studies \r\nat the University of Vienna. After obtaining his degree he began specialist training \r\nin internal medicine at Vienna’s General Hospital in 1895. Federn went into \r\nprivate practice in 1902, and it was at this time that he became interested in \r\npsychoanalysis. Through his teacher and mentor Hermann Nothnagel he came into \r\ncontact with Freud. Admitted to the Psychologische Mittwoch-Gesellschaft (Wednesday \r\nPsychological Society) in 1903, Federn became one of Freud’s most faithful \r\nfollowers and developed a strong positive father transference to him (Weiss 1966, \r\n146). Upon the founding of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Society in 1908, he took \r\nover the duties of the organization’s auditor. During the First World War \r\nFedern served as a physician in the Austro-Hungarian army. After the war’s \r\nend he joined the Social Democratic Party and was elected district councilor in \r\nVienna. He also became involved in Settlement, a charity organization modeled \r\non British groups that his sister Else had founded in Vienna in 1901. Federn began \r\nto take a greater interest in social issues such as family welfare, pedagogy, \r\nsexual education and women’s emancipation (Weiss 1966, 148) and became involved \r\nin numerous movements working toward the introduction of universal healthcare \r\nand public welfare.
\r\n
\r\n1919 marked the publication of Federn’s study Psychology of Revolution: \r\nThe Fatherless Society (Zur Psychologie der Revolution: Die vaterlose Gesellschaft), \r\nwherein he used the psychoanalytic perspective in investigating historical events \r\nand the collective behavior of the Austrian population following the end of the \r\nwar. He warned against putting utopian hopes in the overthrow of the prevailing \r\nsocial order, which could well bring about the downfall of the aristocracy and \r\nthe monarchy, but in which the fatherless bureaucracy would run in danger of falling \r\nvictim to totalitarianism, conformism and mass alienation. He also warned of the \r\npsychodynamic rebound effect of radical movements, since an uprising against fatherly \r\nauthorities could awaken unconscious guilt feelings, a need for expiation and \r\na yearning for an authoritarian father.
\r\n
\r\nBeginning in 1914, Federn’s influence within the Vienna Psychoanalytic Society \r\nbegan to grow. As one of its leading training analysts he took over the chairmanship \r\nof the training committee, and he served as the Society’s vice-president \r\nbeginning in 1924. From the mid-1920s onward he devoted his efforts to “popularizing \r\nand spreading psychoanalytic knowledge” (E. Federn 1971, 721). Together \r\nwith Heinrich Meng he published Das Ärztliche Volksbuch (The People’s \r\nMedical Book) (1924) and Das Psychoanalytische Volksbuch (The People’s \r\nBook of Psychoanalysis) (1926), whereby the first book provided general medical \r\nknowledge and the second was intended to make psychoanalytic theories accessible \r\nto a wider segment of society. Federn was also co-publisher of the journals Internationalen \r\nZeitschrift für Psychoanalyse and Zeitschrift für psychoanalytische \r\nPädagogik. Following the National Socialist takeover in 1938, Federn \r\nfled via Sweden to the United States, where he settled in New York and joined \r\nthe Psychoanalytic Society. In the mid-1940s he was diagnosed with cancer of the \r\nbladder. Shortly before he was scheduled to undergo renewed surgery, Paul Federn \r\ncommitted suicide on 4 May 1950.
\r\n
\r\nPaul Federn’s key areas of interests as a scientist were the theory of psychoses, \r\nnarcissism and the development of an “ego psychology founded in the theory \r\nof drives” (Elrod 1990, 150). He was one of the first psychoanalysts to \r\ntreat psychotic patients, and he did pioneering work in the field of psychoanalytic \r\npsychosis research. Federn remained true to Freudian principles while nonetheless \r\ncontinuing to develop the ego theory and taking the first step toward the establishment \r\nof self-psychology. His investigations were in particular devoted to research \r\ninto transitional states. Didier Anzieu has characterized him as a “thinker \r\nof boundaries, but one who does not think of them as hindrances or barriers, rather \r\nas a precondition for the psychical apparatus’s ability to make differentiations \r\nboth within itself and between that which is psychical and that which is not psychical, \r\nbetween that which is dependent on the self and that which is dependent on the \r\nother“ (Anzieu 1998, 199). In contrast to Freud, Federn did not consider \r\nthe ego feeling to be a product of psychical development, but inborn. Although \r\ninitially diffuse and having little content, the primal ego exists from the beginning \r\nof life, and thus it represents a primary and lasting feeling. According to Federn, \r\nthe feeling of an independent identity, of a mental ego feeling, expresses itself \r\nin the idea that “I am” or “I exist”, through which a \r\nfeeling of the “inner ego” is manifested, which nonetheless can fluctuate. \r\nHe saw the bodily ego feelings as an “compound feeling”, as “a \r\nunified feeling of libido cathexes of the motor and sensory apparatus” (Federn \r\n1952, 27, cit. in Anzieu 1988, 123).
\r\n
\r\nFedern differentiated between the ego and the self, whereby the ego can be simultaneously \r\nsubject (ego) and object (self): “Accordingly, the ego is both the vehicle \r\nand the object of consciousness. We speak of the ego, in its capacity as the vehicle \r\nof consciousness, as ‘I myself’.” (Federn 1952, 94f., cit. in \r\nAnzieu 1998, 121). In his conception, the ego comprises the feeling of temporal \r\ncontinuity, of spatial unity at a specific point in time, and of causality. While \r\nthe ego feeling forming the ego core of a healthy person remains constant, the \r\nfeeling of the ego’s boundaries is in constant transformation. The system \r\nof the unconscious lacks any notion of time, while in the system of consciousness \r\nthe feeling of a temporal unity of the ego allows the individual to develop a \r\nchronological conception of his/her life. The loss of this feeling of the ego’s \r\ntemporal unity leads to psychotic decompensation. In using the term “ego \r\nboundary”, Federn meant “that we feel how far the ego reaches, or, \r\nmore correctly, where it is that the ego no longer reaches” (Federn 1936, \r\n309f., cit. in Elrod 1990, 146). If the ego loses its exterior boundaries, then \r\nexternal objects, although they remain clearly in consciousness, can also be perceived \r\nas being alien or even unreal. According to Federn, the ego feeling is primarily \r\nnarcissistically cathected and “does not arise from the interactions and \r\ninterreactions with the caregiver and further social agencies, but rather ‘it \r\nis our libido that’ (...) ‘creates our ego’” (Elrod 1990, \r\n141). Although the infant seeks the mother’s breast, the object is at this \r\ntime not yet perceived as something external. Secondary narcissism does not develop \r\nuntil the child is able to direct its libido toward an object, and in the libidinous \r\ncathexis of this object to reach the boundaries between the ego and the outer \r\nworld and then to withdraw again.
\r\n
\r\nFedern recognized psychosis as an illness of the ego. He believed that the psychotic \r\nperson is in a position “to deal with his unusable material in a rational \r\nmanner” (Federn 1943, 147, cit. in Elrod 1990, 143), but that the psychoanalytic \r\ntechnique must be modified in the treatment of psychotic cases. It is imperative \r\nthat positive transference be strengthened and negative transference be avoided. \r\nBecause Federn accorded the correcting mother figure central importance in the \r\ntherapeutic treatment of psychosis, he began to train female assistants and to \r\nintegrate them into therapy (Weiss 1966, 154). He advised against interpreting \r\nunconscious material or conducting a detailed anamnesis. The aim of treatment \r\nshould not be to dissolve mechanisms of repression, but to create them. The weakened \r\nego boundary should be strengthened, and the patient’s unreal notions should \r\nbe demonstrated and corrected. The patient should learn to use reality-testing \r\nproperly and to perceive his/her body as both a part of the ego, as a part of \r\nthe outer world, and as a boundary between the ego and the world. Federn developed \r\nhis ego psychology independently from the work of Hartmann, Kris, Jacobson et \r\nal., who for the most part also ignored his investigations.
\r\n
\r\nText: Christiane Rothländer
\r\nTranslation: Christopher Barber

Objekte

B-526, photography
B-527, photography
B-528, photography
B-529, photography
B-574, photography
B-576, photography
B-578, photography
B-577, photography
B-579, photography
, B-575/1, photography, paper
B-575 - G, photography
B-589, photography
, B-775/1 - G, photography, paper
, B-783, photography, paper
B-1005/2, photography
B-1009, photography
B-1011, photography
B-1024, photography
B-1030, photography
B-1031/1, photography
B-1031, photography
B-1032, photography
B-1035, photography
B-1043, photography
, B-1045, photography, paper
B-1049, photography
B-1054 - G, photography
B-1081, photography
B-1030 - G, photography
B-2178, photography
B-194/1, photography
B-575, photography
, B-775/41, photography, paper
B-194, photography
31/122, manuscript, paper
31/110, letter, paper
20/25, letter, paper
31/121, letter, paper
31/130, document, paper
31/19, manuscript, paper
31/18, manuscript, paper
31/17, manuscript, paper
31/14, letter, paper
31/13, letter, paper
31/20, manuscript, paper
31/7, letter, paper
31/5, manuscript, paper
31/5, manuscript, paper
31/4, document, paper
31/3, document, paper
31/21, manuscript, paper
31/22, manuscript, paper
31/24, manuscript, paper
31/46, letter, paper
31/47, manuscript, paper
31/48, manuscript, paper
31/49, manuscript, paper
31/50, manuscript, paper
31/1, manuscript, paper
31/51, document, paper
31/52, document, paper
31/54, manuscript, paper
31/55, document, paper
31/56, document, paper
31/57, manuscript, paper
31/58, manuscript, paper
31/59, manuscript, paper
31/60, letter, paper
31/61, letter, paper
31/62, letter, paper
31/65, letter, paper
31/66, letter, paper
31/67, letter, paper
31/68, letter, paper
31/69, letter, paper
31/70, letter, paper
31/71, letter, paper
31/72, letter, paper
31/72, letter, paper
31/63, letter, paper
31/73, manuscript, paper
31/74, letter, paper
31/75, manuscript, paper
31/76, letter, paper
31/78, letter, paper
31/79, letter, paper
31/80, document, paper
31/81, document, paper
31/84, letter, paper
31/86, letter, paper
31/87, manuscript, paper
31/91, letter, paper
31/92, letter, paper
31/103, letter, paper
31/104, letter, paper
31/112, letter, paper
31/116, letter, paper
31/117, letter, paper
31/127, letter, paper
21/500, letter, paper
21/55, letter, paper
21/128, manuscript, paper
20/24, letter, paper
20/27, letter, paper
, 20/28, letter, paper
20/43, letter, paper
20/29, letter, paper
20/31, letter, paper
20/32, document, paper
20/47, letter, paper
20/35, letter, paper
20/37, manuscript, paper
20/40, letter, paper
20/41, letter, paper
20/44, letter, paper
20/44/1, letter, paper
20/45, letter, paper
20/46, letter, paper
, 20/48, letter, paper
20/5, letter, paper
20/50, letter, paper
20/57, letter, paper
20/71, letter, paper
20/51, letter, paper
, 20/53, letter, paper
20/58, letter, paper
20/68, letter, paper
20/54, letter, paper
20/65, letter, paper
20/67, letter, paper
20/56, letter, paper
20/59, letter, paper
20/64, letter, paper
20/69, letter, paper
20/8, letter, paper
20/9, document, paper
20/34, letter, paper
20/30, letter, paper
20/15, letter, paper
20/18, document, paper
20/19, document, paper
20/2, letter, paper
, 20/4, document, paper
20/11, letter, paper
20/82, letter, paper
20/96, letter, paper
31/6, document, paper
31/8, document, paper
31/9, letter, paper
31/10, manuscript, paper
31/11, letter, paper
31/12, manuscript, paper
31/15, letter, paper
31/16, letter, paper
31/25, manuscript, paper
31/26, manuscript, paper
31/27, letter, paper
31/28, letter, paper
31/29, letter, paper
31/30, letter, paper
31/31, letter, paper
31/32, letter, paper
31/33, letter, paper
31/34, letter, paper
31/35, letter, paper
31/36, letter, paper
31/37, manuscript, paper
31/38, letter, paper
31/39, letter, paper
31/42, letter, paper
31/43, letter, paper
31/44, manuscript, paper
31/40, letter, paper
31/41, letter, paper
III/2/2/HGY, letter, paper
1/46AH, document, paper
11/67, letter, paper
III/2/45/HoI, letter, paper
6/167ST, document, paper
8/263AH, document, paper
28/100, document, paper
28/160, document, paper
28/255, document, paper
28/262, document, paper
28/263, letter, paper
28/261, letter, paper
28/265, letter, paper
28/325, document, paper
28/319, document, paper
68/40, letter, paper
28/184, document, paper
28/191, document, paper
28/164, document, paper
28/224, document, paper
27/10, document, paper
27/5, document, paper
27/12, document, paper
68/39, file, paper
31/99, letter, paper
31/120, letter, paper
31, file, paper
20/42, letter, paper
20/105, letter, paper
31/53, document, paper
31/64, letter, paper
31/83, document, paper
57/15, document, paper
20/7, letter, paper
21/127, document, paper
Logo_padd_high_130x90

Sigmund Freud Privatstiftung
Berggasse 19
1090 Wien

archiv@freud-museum.at

T: +43-1- 319 15 96-19
F: +43-1- 317 02 79

Die Katalogdatenbank von PADD verzeichnet Briefe, Manuskripte und Dokumente zur Geschichte der Psychoanalyse und enthält zur Zeit über 8.000 Einträge. Ausgewählte Dokumente sind auch faksimiliert als Scans verfügbar.



Federn, Paul

Federn_paul1

Paul Federn wurde 1871 als Sohn des jüdischen Arztes Salomon Federn und seiner Frau Ernestine (geb. Spitzer) in Wien geboren. Sein bürgerlich-liberaler Vater genoss als erfolgreicher Arzt hohes Ansehen in der Wiener Gesellschaft, seine Mutter engagierte sich in der sozialen Wohlfahrt und als Aktivistin in der Frauenemanzipationsbewegung. Federn besuchte das Akademische Gymnasium in Wien, wo er 1889 die Matura ablegte. Obwohl sein Interesse v.a. der Biologie galt, beugte er sich dem Wunsch seines dominanten Vaters und begann an der Universität Wien mit dem Studium der Medizin. Nach der Promotion absolvierte er ab 1895 am Allgemeinen Krankenhaus seine Facharztausbildung für innere Medizin und eröffnete 1902 seine Privatpraxis. Zu dieser Zeit begann sich Federn für die Psychoanalyse zu interessieren und kam durch seinen Lehrer und Mentor Hermann Nothnagel mit Freud in Kontakt. 1903 wurde er in die Psychologische Mittwoch-Gesellschaft aufgenommen und zu einem der treuesten Anhänger Freuds, zu dem er eine starke positive Vaterübertragung entwickelte (Weiss 1966, 146). Nach der Gründung der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung (WPV) im Jahre 1908 übernahm er die Funktion des Rechnungsprüfers der Vereinigung. Während des Ersten Weltkrieges diente Federn als Militärarzt in der k.u.k. Armee. Nach Ende des Krieges trat er der Sozialdemokratischen Partei bei, war als Bezirksrat aktiv und engagierte sich im Wohltätigkeitsverein Settlement, den seine Schwester Else 1901 nach englischem Vorbild in Wien gegründet hatte. Federn begann sich zunehmend, für soziale Fragen wie Familienfürsorge, Pädagogik, Sexualerziehung oder Frauenemanzipation (Weiss 1966, 148) zu interessieren und war in zahlreichen Bewegungen, die für die Einführung allgemeiner medizinischer Standards und Sozialfürsorge eintraten, tätig.

1919 erschien Federns Studie Zur Psychologie der Revolution: Die vaterlose Gesellschaft, worin er die historischen Ereignisse und das kollektive Verhalten der österreichischen Bevölkerung nach dem Ende des Krieges aus psychoanalytischer Sicht untersuchte. Er warnte davor, utopische Hoffnungen in den gesellschaftlichen Umsturz zu setzen, da durch Revolutionen zwar Geschlechter und Kaiser gestürzt werden könnten, die vaterlose Bürokratie jedoch Gefahr laufe, dem Totalitarismus, der Konformität und der Massenentfremdung zum Opfer zu fallen. Weiters warnte er vor dem psychodynamischen Rückstoßeffekt radikaler Bewegungen, da der Aufstand gegen die Vaterautoritäten unbewusste Schuldgefühle und Sühnebedürfnisse und die Sehnsucht nach einem autoritären Vater wecken könnten.

Ab 1914 begann Federn innerhalb der WPV zunehmend an Einfluss zu gewinnen. Als einer der führenden Lehranalytiker übernahm er den Vorsitz im Lehrausschuss der WPV und fungierte ab 1924 als Vize-Präsident der Vereinigung. Ab Mitte der 1920er-Jahre bemühte er sich um „die popularisierende Ausbreitung der psychoanalytischen Erkenntnisse“ (E. Federn 1971, 721) und veröffentlichte zusammen mit Heinrich Meng das Ärztliche Volksbuch (1924) sowie Das Psychoanalytische Volksbuch (1926), um die psychoanalytischen Theorien einer breiteren Bevölkerungsschicht zugänglich zu machen. Er war Mitherausgeber der Internationalen Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse und der Zeitschrift für psychoanalytische Pädagogik. Nach der nationalsozialistischen Machtübernahme flüchtete Federn 1938 über Schweden in die Vereinigten Staaten, wo er sich in New York niederließ und der Psycho-Analytic Society beitrat. Mitte der 1940er-Jahre erkrankte er an Blasenkrebs. Kurz vor einer neuerlichen Operation beging Paul Federn am 4. Mai 1950 Selbstmord.

Paul Federns wissenschaftliches Interesse galt v.a. der Theorie der Psychosen, des Narzissmus und der Entwicklung einer „triebtheoretisch fundierten Ich-Psychologie“ (Elrod 1990, 150). Als einer der ersten Psychoanalytiker behandelte er psychotische Patienten und Patientinnen und leistete Pionierarbeit auf dem Gebiet der psychoanalytischen Psychosenforschung. Federn blieb zwar der Freudschen Lehre treu, entwickelte jedoch die Ich-Theorie weiter und setzte den ersten Schritt zur Etablierung der Selbstpsychologie. Seine Untersuchungen galten insbesondere der Erforschung der Übergangszustände. Als „Denker der Grenzen“ bezeichnet ihn Didier Anzieu, der diese jedoch „nicht als Hindernis, Barriere (denkt), sondern als eine Bedingung, die es dem psychischen Apparat ermöglicht, Differenzierungen in sich selbst sowie zwischen dem vorzunehmen was psychisch ist, und dem was nicht psychisch ist, zwischen dem, was vom Selbst bzw. vom anderen abhängt“ (Anzieu 1998, 119). Im Gegensatz zu Freud nahm Federn das Ich-Gefühl nicht als Produkt der psychischen Entwicklung sondern als naturgegeben an. Dieses „Ur-Ich“ sei von Beginn des Lebens, wenn auch noch diffus und inhaltsarm, vorhanden und stelle somit ein primäres und dauerhaftes Gefühl dar. Das Gefühl einer eigenständigen Identität, eines seelischen Ich-Gefühls drückt sich Federn zufolge in der Vorstellung des „Ich bin“ oder „Ich existiere“ aus, wodurch sich ein Gefühl des „Innen-Ich“ manifestiert, das jedoch fluktuieren kann. Das körperliche Ichgefühl betrachtete er als ein „Gesamtgefühl“, als „das einheitliche Gefühl von der Libidobesetzung der sensorischen und motorischen Apparate“ (Federn 1978, 31, zit. n. Anzieu 1998, 123).

Er unterschied zwischen dem Ich und dem Selbst, wobei das Ich gleichzeitig Subjekt (Ich) und Objekt (Selbst) sein kann: „Das Ich ist demnach beides, Träger und Gegenstand des Bewusstseins. Als Träger des Bewusstsein heisst das Ich ‚ich-selbst’“ (Federn 1978, 87, zit. n. Anzieu 1998, 121). Das Ich setzt sich bei Federn aus dem Gefühl einer zeitlichen Kontinuität, einer räumlichen Einheit zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt und einem Gefühl der Kausalität zusammen. Während das den Ich-Kern bildende Ich-Gefühl beim gesunden Menschen konstant bleibe, unterliegt das Gefühl der Ich-Grenzen einem ständigen Wandel. Ebenso fehlt dem System des Unbewussten jegliche Zeitvorstellung, während im System des Bewusstseins das Gefühl einer zeitlichen Einheit des Ichs vorhanden ist, das es dem Individuum ermöglicht, eine chronologische Vorstellung seines Lebens zu entwickeln. Schwindet dieses Gefühl einer zeitlichen Einheit des Ichs führt dies zu psychotischer Dekompensation. Mit Ich-Grenze meinte Federn, „daß wir fühlen, wie weit das Ich reicht, oder, noch richtiger, bis wohin das Ich nicht mehr reicht“ (Federn 1936, 309f., zit. n. Elrod 1990, 146). Verliert das Ich seine äußeren Grenzen, können auch die äußeren Objekte, obwohl sie deutlich im Bewusstsein bleiben, als fremd oder sogar irreal wahrgenommen werden. Nach Federn ist das Ich-Gefühl ursprünglich primär narzisstisch besetzt und „ergibt sich nicht aus den Interaktionen und Interre-aktionen mit den pflegenden Personen und den weiteren sozialen Instanzen (...), sondern die ‚Libido stellt erst’ (...) ‚unser Ich her’“ (Elrod 1990, S. 141). Zwar sucht der Säugling die Brust der Mutter, jedoch wird das Objekt zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht als etwas Äußeres wahrgenommen. Der sekundäre Narzissmus entwickelt sich erst, wenn das Kind fähig ist, seine Libido auf ein Objekt zu richten, mit dieser libidinösen Objektbesetzung die Grenzen des Ichs mit der Außenwelt zu erreichen und sich dann wieder zurückzuziehen.

In der Psychose erkannte Federn eine Erkrankung des Ichs. Er glaubte, dass der psychotische Mensch in der Lage sei, „sich mit seinem unbrauchbaren Material in vernünftiger Weise zu befassen“ (Federn 1943, 147 zit. n. Elrod 1990, 143), jedoch schlug er für die Durchführung der Behandlung eine Modifikation der psychoanalytischen Technik vor. Die positive Übertragung müsste unbedingt gefördert, eine negative Übertragung absolut vermieden werden. Da Federn der korrigierenden Mutterfigur zentrale Bedeutung für die Psychosentherapie beimaß, begann er weibliches Pflegepersonal auszubilden und in die Therapie einzubeziehen (Weiss 1966, 154). Er riet davon ab, unbewusstes Material zu deuten oder eine Anamneseerhebung durchzuführen. Ziel der Behandlung sollte nicht die Aufhebung sondern die Schaffung von Verdrängungsmechanismen sein. Die geschwächte Ich-Grenze sollte gestärkt, die irrealen Vorstellungen aufgezeigt und korrigiert werden. Die Patienten und Patientinnen sollten lernen, die Realitätsprüfung richtig zu nutzen und ihren Körper sowohl als Teil des Ichs, als Teil der Außenwelt und als Grenze zwischen dem Ich und der Welt wahrzunehmen. Federn entwickelte seine Ich-Psychologie unabhängig von den Arbeiten von Hartmann, Kris, Jacobson u.a., die seine Untersuchungen ebenfalls weitgehend ignorierten.

_Christiane Rothländer _

Bibliografie

Auswahlbibliografie

Primärliteratur

(1902), Zur Reform des ärztlichen Spitaldienstes. In: Wiener Klinische Rundschau 15, S. 276-278, S. 293f.

(1913), Die Quellen des männlichen Sadismus. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 1, S. 29-49.

(1914), Die libidinösen Quellen des Masochismus. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 2, S. 105-130.

(1919), Zur Psychologie der Revolution: Die Vaterlose Gesellschaft, Wien.

(1920), Zur Frage des Hemmungstraumes. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für ärztliche Psychoanalyse 6, S. 73-75.

(1924) gem. m. Heinrich Meng, Das ärztliche Volksbuch, Stuttgart.

(1926), Einige Variationen des Ichgefühls. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 12, S. 263-274.

(1926) gem. m. Heinrich Meng (Hrsg.), Das psychoanalytische Volksbuch, Stuttgart.

(1929), Das Ich als Subjekt und Objekt im Narzissmus. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 15, S. 393-425.

(1932), Das Ichgefühl im Traume. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 18, S. 145-170.

(1930), Der neurotische Stil. In: Abhandlungen aus der Neurologie, Psychiatrie, Psychologie und ihren Grenzgebieten 61, S. 194-201.

(1933), Die Psychosenanalyse. Zur Indikation. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 19, S. 207-210.

(1933), Die Psychosenanalyse. Zur Technik. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 19, S. 444-449.

(1936), Zur Unterscheidung des gesunden und krankhaften Narzißmus. In: Internationale Zeitschrift für Psychoanalyse 22, S. 5-39; wiederabgedr. in: Federn (1956), S. 303-337.

(1943), Die Psychosen-Analyse. In: Ich-Psychologie und die Psychosen, hrsg. v. Alexander Mitscherlich, Frankfurt a.M. 1978, S. 107-151, wiederabgedr. in: Federn (1956), S. 107-151.

Werkausgabe
(1952), Ego Psychology and the Psychoses, ed. by Eduardo Weiss, New York.
dt.: (1956), Ichpsychologie und die Psychosen, hrsg. v. Heinrich Meng, Bern/Stuttgart; unver. Aufl. (1978), hrsg. von Alexander Mitscherlich, Frankfurt a.M.

Sekundärliteratur

Anzieu, Didier (1998), Das Haut-Ich, 2. Aufl., Frankfurt a.M.

Elrod, Norman (1990), 40 Jahre danach – Reflexionen über die Ichpsychologie Paul Federns. In: Luzifer-Amor 3, S. 137-152.

Fallend, Karl (1988), Wilhelm Reich in Wien. Psychoanalyse und Politik, Wien/Salzburg.

Federn, Ernst (1971), Fünfunddreißig Jahre mit Freud. Zum 100. Geburtstag von Paul Federn am 13. Oktober 1971. In: Psyche 10, S. 721-737.

Federn, Ernst (Ed.) (1972), Thirty-Five Years with Freud. In Honour of the Hundredth Anniversary of Paul Federn, M.D., Journal of Clinical Psychology 32.

Federn, Ernst (1999), Ein Leben für die Psychoanalyse. Von Wien über Buchenwald und die USA zurück nach Wien, Gießen.

Meng, Heinrich (1956), Paul Federn 1871-1950. In: Federn, Paul, Ich Psychologie und die Psychosen, hrsg. von Heinrich Meng, Bern/Stuttgart, S. 341-349.

Mühlleitner, Elke (1992), Biographisches Lexikon der Psychoanalyse. Die Mitglieder der Psychologischen Mittwoch-Gesellschaft und der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung 1902-1938, Tübingen.

Reichmayr, Johannes/Wiesbauer, Elisabeth (1978), Das Verhältnis von Sozialdemokratie und Psychoanalyse in Österreich zwischen 1900 und 1938. In: Hubert, Wolfgang (Hg.), Beiträge zur Geschichte der Psychoanalyse in Österreich, Wien/Salzburg, S. 25-60.

Weiss, Eduardo (1951), Obituary. Paul Federn. In: International Journal of Psychoanalysis, S. 242-246.

Weiss, Eduardo (1966), Paul Federn 1871-1950. The Theory of the Psychosis. In: Alexander, Franz/Eisenstein, Samuel/Grotjahn, Martin (Eds.), Psychoanalytic Pioneers, New York/London, pp. 142-159.

Zusammengestellt von Christiane Rothländer

Objekte

B-526, Fotographie
B-527, Fotographie
B-528, Fotographie
B-529, Fotographie
B-574, Fotographie
B-576, Fotographie
B-578, Fotographie
B-577, Fotographie
B-579, Fotographie
Paul Federn (1931), bei einer Rede in Freiberg, die Redner-Tribüne = Auschnitt von B-526, B-575/1, Fotographie, Papier
B-575 - G, Fotographie
B-589, Fotographie
B-775/1 - G, Fotographie
B-783, Fotographie
B-1005/2, Fotographie
B-1009, Fotographie
B-1011, Fotographie
B-1024, Fotographie
B-1030, Fotographie
B-1031/1, Fotographie
B-1031, Fotographie
B-1032, Fotographie
B-1035, Fotographie
B-1043, Fotographie
Kongreß in Luzern (1934), Marie Bonaparte, Paul Federn, Rodolphe Loewenstein, Herman Nunberg, Heinrich Meng, B-1045, Fotographie, Papier
B-1049, Fotographie
B-1054 - G, Fotographie
B-1081, Fotographie
B-1030 - G, Fotographie
B-2178, Fotographie
B-194/1, Fotographie
B-575, Fotographie
B-775/41, Fotographie
B-194, Fotographie
31/122, Manuskript, Papier
31/110, Brief, Papier
20/25, Brief, Papier
31/121, Brief, Papier
31/130, Dokument, Papier
31/19, Manuskript, Papier
31/18, Manuskript, Papier
31/17, Manuskript, Papier
31/14, Brief, Papier
31/13, Brief, Papier
31/20, Manuskript, Papier
31/7, Brief, Papier
31/5, Manuskript, Papier
31/5, Manuskript, Papier
31/4, Dokument, Papier
31/3, Dokument, Papier
31/21, Manuskript, Papier
31/22, Manuskript, Papier
31/24, Manuskript, Papier
31/46, Brief, Papier
31/47, Manuskript, Papier
31/48, Manuskript, Papier
31/49, Manuskript, Papier
31/50, Manuskript, Papier
31/1, Manuskript, Papier
31/51, Dokument, Papier
31/52, Dokument, Papier
31/54, Manuskript, Papier
31/55, Dokument, Papier
31/56, Dokument, Papier
31/57, Manuskript, Papier
31/58, Manuskript, Papier
31/59, Manuskript, Papier
31/60, Brief, Papier
31/61, Brief, Papier
31/62, Brief, Papier
31/65, Brief, Papier
31/66, Brief, Papier
31/67, Brief, Papier
31/68, Brief, Papier
31/69, Brief, Papier
31/70, Brief, Papier
31/71, Brief, Papier
31/72, Brief, Papier
31/72, Brief, Papier
31/63, Brief, Papier
31/73, Manuskript, Papier
31/74, Brief, Papier
31/75, Manuskript, Papier
31/76, Brief, Papier
31/78, Brief, Papier
31/79, Brief, Papier
31/80, Dokument, Papier
31/81, Dokument, Papier
31/84, Brief, Papier
31/86, Brief, Papier
31/87, Manuskript, Papier
31/91, Brief, Papier
31/92, Brief, Papier
31/103, Brief, Papier
31/104, Brief, Papier
31/112, Brief, Papier
31/116, Brief, Papier
31/117, Brief, Papier
31/127, Brief, Papier
21/500, Brief, Papier
21/55, Brief, Papier
21/128, Manuskript, Papier
20/24, Brief, Papier
20/27, Brief, Papier
Brief Sigmund Freud an Paul Federn, 20/28, Brief, Papier
20/43, Brief, Papier
20/29, Brief, Papier
20/31, Brief, Papier
20/32, Dokument, Papier
20/47, Brief, Papier
20/35, Brief, Papier
20/37, Manuskript, Papier
20/40, Brief, Papier
20/41, Brief, Papier
20/44, Brief, Papier
20/44/1, Brief, Papier
20/45, Brief, Papier
20/46, Brief, Papier
Brief Sigmund Freud (erwähnt Paul Federn), 20/48, Brief, Papier
20/5, Brief, Papier
20/50, Brief, Papier
20/57, Brief, Papier
20/71, Brief, Papier
20/51, Brief, Papier
Brief Sigmund Freud an Paul Federn (erwähnt Primarius Fleischmann und A. J. Storfer), 20/53, Brief, Papier
20/58, Brief, Papier
20/68, Brief, Papier
20/54, Brief, Papier
20/65, Brief, Papier
20/67, Brief, Papier
20/56, Brief, Papier
20/59, Brief, Papier
20/64, Brief, Papier
20/69, Brief, Papier
20/8, Brief, Papier
20/9, Dokument, Papier
20/34, Brief, Papier
20/30, Brief, Papier
20/15, Brief, Papier
20/18, Dokument, Papier
20/19, Dokument, Papier
20/2, Brief, Papier
Notiz Sigmund Freuds zur WPV, 20/4, Dokument, Papier
20/11, Brief, Papier
20/82, Brief, Papier
20/96, Brief, Papier
31/6, Dokument, Papier
31/8, Dokument, Papier
31/9, Brief, Papier
31/10, Manuskript, Papier
31/11, Brief, Papier
31/12, Manuskript, Papier
31/15, Brief, Papier
31/16, Brief, Papier
31/25, Manuskript, Papier
31/26, Manuskript, Papier
31/27, Brief, Papier
31/28, Brief, Papier
31/29, Brief, Papier
31/30, Brief, Papier
31/31, Brief, Papier
31/32, Brief, Papier
31/33, Brief, Papier
31/34, Brief, Papier
31/35, Brief, Papier
31/36, Brief, Papier
31/37, Manuskript, Papier
31/38, Brief, Papier
31/39, Brief, Papier
31/42, Brief, Papier
31/43, Brief, Papier
31/44, Manuskript, Papier
31/40, Brief, Papier
31/41, Brief, Papier
III/2/2/HGY, Brief, Papier
1/46AH, Dokument, Papier
11/67, Brief, Papier
III/2/45/HoI, Brief, Papier
6/167ST, Dokument, Papier
8/263AH, Dokument, Papier
28/100, Dokument, Papier
28/160, Dokument, Papier
28/255, Dokument, Papier
28/262, Dokument, Papier
28/263, Brief, Papier
28/261, Brief, Papier
28/265, Brief, Papier
28/325, Dokument, Papier
28/319, Dokument, Papier
68/40, Brief, Papier
28/184, Dokument, Papier
28/191, Dokument, Papier
28/164, Dokument, Papier
28/224, Dokument, Papier
27/10, Dokument, Papier
27/5, Dokument, Papier
27/12, Dokument, Papier
68/39, Akte, Papier
31/99, Brief, Papier
31/120, Brief, Papier
31, Akte, Papier
20/42, Brief, Papier
20/105, Brief, Papier
31/53, Dokument, Papier
31/64, Brief, Papier
31/83, Dokument, Papier
57/15, Dokument, Papier
20/7, Brief, Papier
21/127, Dokument, Papier
Logo_padd_high_130x90

Sigmund Freud Privatstiftung
Berggasse 19
1090 Wien

archiv@freud-museum.at

T: +43-1- 319 15 96-19
F: +43-1- 317 02 79